Nepal Geological Society (NGS)

Nepalese National Group of IAEG Since 20 Years

P.O.Box No. 231 Kathmandu, Nepal

Interaction program between 18th executive committee and senior members of the society on “Role of Geologist on Federal System” and “Formation of Geological Council”

Nepal Geological Society (NGS) organized an interaction program between 18th executive committee and senior members of the society in the topic “Role of geologists on Federal System” and “Formation of Geological Council” on 2074/5/30, Friday at the auditorium hall of the Department of Mines and Geology, Lainchaur, Kathmandu. About thirty five senior members of the society were present on the interaction program. Dr. Kabi Raj Paudyal, President of the Society delivered welcome speech and highlighted the interaction program. Mr. Rajendra Khanal, Director General of Department of Mines and Geology; Mr. Churna Bahadur Wali, Deputy Director General of the Department of Irrigation; Mr. Andy Prakash Bhatta, President of Nepal Hydrogeological Association; Mr. Achyutananda Bhandari, Honorary Member and Ex-President of the NGS, Mr. Vinod Singh Chhetri, Ex-President of the NGS; Mr. Krishna Prasad Kaphle, Ex-President and Honorary Member of the NGS; Dr. Soma Nath Sapkota, Deputy Director General of Department of Mines and Geology; Dr. Naresh Kazi Tamrakar, Associate Professor of Central Department of Geology and Editor in Chief of the Journal of Nepal Geological Society; Dr. Danda Pani Adhikari, Associate professor of the Department of Environmental Science, Tri-Chandra Campus and Immediate Past President of the NGS; Mr. Moti Bahadur Kunwar (senior member of NGS); Mr. Govinda Sharma Pokhrel (senior member of NGS) put their view on the topic and fruitful discussions were made. They suggested to make a strong coordination among the geologists woking in different ogranizations to ensure the maximum number of geologists in different sectors.  Similarly, Mr. Suresh Raj Upreti, Mr. Uttam Bol Shrestha, Mr. Ramesh Kumar Aryal and Prof. Dr. Suresh Das Shrestha also took part in the interaction program. They highlighted the necessity of the geological council to improve the quality of the geological profession. Mr. Prakash Pokhrel (geologist from Department of Mines and Geology) and Mr. Narayan Adhikari (Member of 18th executive committee) served as the rapporteurs. At the end of the program Dr. Kabi Raj Paudyal, President of the NGS assured to incorporate the suggestions from distinguished participants and to take the necessary steps for the process in his concluding remarks. At the last of the program, Dr. Ganesh Nath Tripathi, Vice President of the NGS, extended vote of thanks.The program was conducted by Dr. Kamala Kanta Acharya, general secretary of the Society.

Conclusion of the program

1. NepalGeological Society (NGS), Department of Mines and Geology (DMG), Department ofIrrigation (DoI), Department of Geology, Tribhuvan University along with othergeo-science related organizations should make strong coordination tocommunicate with concerned authorities of governmental organization to ensureand extend the role and responsibility of geologists on newly proposedrestructuring  system of the government.

2. Geological Council isnecessary to overallmonitor the involvement, qualification and experience of the geoscientists inthe field of geological profession. Therefore, result-oriented action should be taken bythe Society for the formation of geological council. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Nepal Geological Society P.O.Box No. 231 Kathmandu, Nepal
Freephone: +977-01-4437874

Having Any Query