Honorary Members

Nepal Geological Society honours eminent geoscientists who have valuable contribution in the scientific researches in the Himalaya by awarding the Honorary Membership.

Nepal Geological Society started to honor from 1994 and till date, following geoscientists who have significately contributed in Geology of the Himalaya were abided by Honorary Memberships.

Honorary Members of NGS

2016: Prof. Dr. Harutaka Sakai, Japan
2016: Mr. Achuta Nanda Bhandary, Nepal
2014: Prof. Dr. Georges H. Mascle, France
2014: Prof. Dr. Bishal Nath Upreti, Nepal
2012: Prof. Dr. Paul Tapponnier, France
2012: Mr. Gopal Singh Thapa, Nepal
2010: Prof. Dr. Kazunori Arita, Japan
2010: Mr. Jhumar Mal Tater, Nepal
2009:  Prof. Dr. Gerhard Fuchs, Austria
2009: Prof. Dr. Madhab Prasad Sharma (Late), Nepal
2007: Prof. Dr. M. Qasim Jan, Pakistan
2007: Dr. Jovan Sebastian Stocklin (Late), Switzerland
2005: Prof. Dr. Agusto Gansser (Late), Switzerland
2005: Mr. Biswa Man Pradhan, Nepal
2000: Prof. Dr. K. S. Valdiya, India
2000: Dr. Patrick Le Fort (Late), France
1998: Prof. Dr. Koshiro Kizaki, Japan
1998: Mr. Madhav Raj Pandey (Late), Nepal
1997: Mr. P. B. Malla (Late), Nepal
1994: Dr. Chandra Kanta Sharma (Late), Nepal
1994: Prof. Dr. P. Bordet (Late), France
Member Login
  • Jul

    Academic and professional development Sub Committee of the Nepal Geological Society and Nepal Geological Students’ Society in collaboration with Central Department of Geology has organized a training and interaction program entitled “Mining and Engineering Geology in field” on 23rd  Asadh 2075 at the conference hall of the Central Department of Geology, Kirtipur.

  • May

    Nepal Geological Society has organized a press meeting on the memory of 2015 Gorkha Earthquake on 2075/1/12 at the conference hall of Department of Irrigation, Jawalakhel

Activities and Information

Activities of 17th and 18th Executive Committee
Nepal Geological Society
P.O.Box No. 231
Kathmandu, Nepal
FREEPHONE: +977-01-4437874
Email: info@ngs.org.np